Skip to content ↓


All students in the school study science from Years 7 through to Year 11. In Years 7 to 8, students follow schemes of work which enable their scientific skills to develop during the two years.

At Key Stage 4, all students complete combined science or triple science:

  • Combined Science (compulsory unless doing Triple Science)
  • Triple Science (Chemistry, Biology, Physics)

At post-16, students can choose to follow either A level Biology, A level Chemistry or A level Physics.

In all years, students have the opportunity to learn through a variety of methods, whether this be class presentations, practical experiments or class discussions.

For more detailed course information, please see the curriculum guides. Downloads to help with classwork, extended work or coursework, can be found on Frog.

Miss K Ioannides is Director of Science, Miss H Haq is Head of Science, Dr K Hirst is Head of Biology, Miss S Atkins is Head of Chemistry and Mr J Dowie is Head of Physics. Miss S Lyall is KS3 coordinator. Ms N Leppard is in charge of Child Development.

Other members of the team are, Mrs D Ayres, Mrs S Carran, Mr P Tate, Mr M Clarke, Mr C Cordes, Miss L Mosley, Dr A Grey, Mrs T Forno, , Mr A Gorley, Mr J Mirtschin and Mr P Rolaston.